news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Motherwell & Wishaw
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Frank Roy Labour 16,681 56.2 -1.2
Jim McGuigan SNP 5,725 19.3 -3.2
Mark Nolan Conservative 3,155 10.6 -0.4
Iain Brown Liberal Democrat 2,791 9.4 +3.0
Stephen Smellie Scottish Socialist 1,260 4.2  
Claire Watt Socialist Labour 61 0.2 -2.0
Majority 10,956 36.9
Turnout 29,673 56.6 -13.5
Against 1997 General Election 1.0% from SNP to Labour
Lab-Con (against 1997) 0.4% from Labour to Conservative
Against 1999 devolution poll 10.2% from SNP to Labour

Motherwell and Wishaw is located in the very industrial heart of Scotland and is a seat that has suffered more than most because of the decline in traditional industries. This is the site of the former Ravenscraig steelworks which were closed in 1992 and levelled to the ground in 1996. The closure led directly to the loss of 1500 jobs and the economy has been hit much further afield than just in Motherwell.

Jobs have also been lost in this particular seat thanks to the decline of its two other indigenous industries, coal and engineering, making this anything but an employment hot spot. The industrial landscape has been softened in recent years through the development of Strathclyde Country Park, which includes a 200 acre man-made loch.

Motherwell has a historical significance for the SNP; it was the scene of the 1945 wartime by-election at which Dr Robert McIntyre was elected as the SNP’s first MP. He was only an MP for a few months with Labour winning the seat back at the 1945 general election and holding it ever since.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Motherwell & Wishaw
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Frank Roy Labour 21,020 57.4
James McGuigan SNP 8,229 22.5
Scott Dickson Conservative 4,024 11.0
Alex Mackie Liberal Democrat 2,331 6.4
Christopher Herriot Socialist Labour 797 2.2
Thomas Russell Referendum 218 0.6
Majority 12,791 34.9
Turnout 36,619 70.1
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Motherwell & Wishaw
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Jack McConnell Labour 13,925 45.9
Jim McGuigan SNP 8,879 29.3
William Gibson Conservative 3,694 12.2
John Milligan Socialist Labour 1,941 6.4
Rodger Spillane Liberal Democrat 1,895 6.2
Majority 5,046 16.6
Turnout 30,334 57.1