news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
Other Liberal Democrat hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Malcolm Bruce Liberal Democrat 17,928 48.5 +5.9
Nanette Milne Conservative 8,049 21.8 -4.2
Rhona Kemp SNP 5,760 15.6 -4.4
Ellis Thorpe Labour 4,730 12.8 +2.5
John Sangster Scottish Socialist 534 1.4  
Majority 9,879 26.7
Turnout 37,001 61.7 -10.2
Against 1997 General Election 5.0% from Conservative to Liberal Democrat
Lab-Con (against 1997) 3.4% from Conservative to Labour
Against 1999 devolution poll 4.8% from Conservative to Liberal Democrat

Gordon is a largely rural constituency where forestry, agriculture and food processing are the most important industries. Beef production is important but was badly hit by the BSE crisis.

Other industries include paper at Inverurie and engineering supplies for the oil and gas industries based at Ellon. Residential development in towns such as Inverurie and Ellon have resulted in many people who work in Aberdeen's oil industry living here.

Gordon has a recent history of Liberal representation, but Liberal Democrat Malcolm Bruce has had to fight to retain his seat in recent elections. He won Gordon from the Conservatives in 1983 and increased his majority to over 10,000 in 1987, but in 1992 that was slashed to only 274 votes. The boundary changes made this notionally a Conservative seat before the 1997 elections, but the anti-Tory backlash in Scotland ensured that Mr Bruce managed to hold on with a 7,000 majority.

Nora Radcliffe won the seat for the Liberal Democrats in the Scottish Parliament with a reduced, in comparison with 1997, but solid majority of over 4,000 votes with the SNP overtaking the Tories for second.

Past Results

1997 General Election
Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative
Name Party Votes %
Malcolm Bruce Liberal Democrat 17,999 42.6
John Porter Conservative 11,002 26.0
Richard Lochhead SNP 8,435 20.0
Lindsey Kirkhill Labour 4,350 10.3
Fred Pidcock Referendum 459 1.1
Majority 6,997 16.6
Turnout 42,245 71.9
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
Liberal Democrat win
Name Party Votes %
Nora Radcliffe Liberal Democrat 12,353 36.7
Sandy Stronach SNP 8,158 24.3
Alex Johnstone Conservative 6,602 19.6
Gillian Carlin-Kulwicki Labour 3,950 11.7
Hamish Watt Independent 2,559 8.0
Majority 4,195 12.4
Turnout 33,622 55.9