news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Glasgow Shettleston
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
David Marshall Labour 13,235 64.7 -8.5
Jim Byrne SNP 3,417 16.7 +2.7
Rosie Kane Scottish Socialist 1,396 6.8  
Lewis Hutton Liberal Democrat 1,105 5.4 +1.4
Campbell Murdoch Conservative 1,082 5.3 -0.2
Murdo Ritchie Socialist Labour 230 1.1  
Majority 9,818 48.0
Turnout 20,465 39.7 -16.0
Against 1997 General Election 5.6% from Labour to SNP
Lab-Con (against 1997) 4.2% from Labour to Conservative
Against 1999 devolution poll 10.6% from SNP to Labour

Shettleston may not be an area familiar to many from outside the city but one part of the seat certainly is - the Gorbals. Notorious as one of the worst slums in Europe, the Gorbals quickly became synonymous with urban decay, want and deprivation.

But the razor gangs of old have now departed and the Gorbals, like many other east-end tenement districts, is undergoing a successful refurbishment programme. However, poor housing is still a problem here: this seat contains 25 tower blocks, the most of any seat in Scotland.

This constituency also includes Queen’s Park, Govanhill, Dalmarnock, the "Barras" (a famous market area), Parkhead, Tollcross and Shettleston itself.

The seat as a whole is industrial in character, which may help to explain Labour's traditional grip on the seat. One of Glasgow's more famous landmarks is also located in this seat - Celtic Park, home of Celtic Football Club. Shettleston’s other claim to fame is that it is the home of that icon of Scottishness, Irn Bru.

At the last election, this was the safest Labour seat in Scotland - in 1997 David Marshall (who has held this seat since 1979) won 73% of the vote; his majority was almost 60%.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Glasgow Shettleston
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
David Marshall Labour 19,616 73.2
Humayun Hanif SNP 3,748 14.0
Colin Simpson Conservative 1,484 5.5
Kerry Hiles Liberal Democrat 1,061 4.0
Christine McVicar Other 482 1.8
Robert Currie BNP 191 0.7
Thomas Montguire Referendum 151 0.6
John Graham Workers Rev 80 0.3
Majority 15,868 59.2
Turnout 26,813 55.7
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Glasgow Shettleston
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Frank McAveety Labour 11,078 54.0
Jim Byrne SNP 5,611 27.3
Rosie Kane Scottish Socialist 1,640 8.0
Colin Bain Conservative 1,260 6.1
Laurence Clarke Liberal Democrat 943 4.6
Majority 5,467 26.7
Turnout 20,532 40.3