news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Glasgow Kelvin
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
George Galloway Labour 12,014 44.8 -6.2
Tamsin Mayberry Liberal Democrat 4,754 17.7 +3.5
Frank Rankin SNP 4,513 16.8 -4.6
Davena Rankin Conservative 2,388 8.9 -1.9
Heather Ritchie Scottish Socialist 1,847 6.9  
Tim Shand Green 1,286 4.8  
Majority 7,260 27.1
Turnout 26,802 43.6 -12.5
Against 1997 General Election 4.9% from Labour to Liberal Democrat
Lab-Con (against 1997) 2.1% from Labour to Conservative
Against 1999 devolution poll 2.3% from Labour to Liberal Democrat

The whole of the city centre is contained in this one seat, including Kelvingrove art gallery, the central station, the cathedral, city museum, BBC offices and Scottish Exhibition Centre.

All three of Glasgow's universities are in this constituency, making it the most educated seat in Scotland. The huge student population is an important factor in elections here.

The Merchant City is also here, yuppie housing built out of the disused cotton and tobacco warehouses. This area is a symbol of the rebirth of the city on the heels of its triumph in capturing European City of Culture status in 1990 (ahead of rivals Paris, Amsterdam and Athens) although tellingly many properties in this area are still to let. Kelvin is undoubtedly the most prosperous seat in the rejuvenated city.

Kelvin's predecessor seat, Glasgow Hillhead, was the last Conservative seat in Glasgow until Roy Jenkins won it for the SDP at a by-election in 1982. He held it at the 1983 General Election but it was taken by Labour's George Galloway in 1987. One of Labour's more outspoken MPs, George Galloway has increased his vote at each subsequent election.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Glasgow Kelvin
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
George Galloway Labour 16,643 51.0
Sandra White SNP 6,978 21.4
Elspeth Buchanan Liberal Democrat 4,629 14.2
Duncan McPhie Conservative 3,539 10.8
Allan Green Other 386 1.2
Robert Grigor Referendum 282 0.9
Victor Vanni Socialist Party 102 0.3
George Stidolph Natural Law 95 0.3
Majority 9,665 29.6
Turnout 32,654 56.1
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Glasgow Kelvin
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Pauline McNeill Labour 12,711 44.8
Sandra White SNP 8,303 29.3
Moira Craig Liberal Democrat 3,720 13.1
Assad Rasul Conservative 2,253 7.9
Heather Ritchie Scottish Socialist 1,375 4.8
Majority 4,408 15.5
Turnout 28,362 46.1