news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Glasgow Govan
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Mohammed Sarwar Labour 12,464 49.3 +5.2
Karen Neary SNP 6,064 24.0 -11.1
Bob Stewart Liberal Democrat 2,815 11.1 +5.2
Mark Menzies Conservative 2,167 8.6 -0.2
Wullie McGartland Scottish Socialist 1,531 6.1  
John Foster Communist Brit 174 0.7  
Badar Mirza Independent 69 0.3  
Majority 6,400 25.3
Turnout 25,284 46.8 -17.7
Against 1997 General Election 8.2% from SNP to Labour
Lab-Con (against 1997) 2.7% from Conservative to Labour
Against 1999 devolution poll 9.3% from SNP to Labour

On the south bank of the Clyde in central Glasgow, Govan is famous for its (now largely defunct) docklands. It is not simply a depressed working-class industrial district, however, for it also contains both Queen's Park and Pollok country park and the plush owner-occupied suburbs of Pollokshields and Shawlands.

The Burrell Collection, an eclectic gathering of works of art left to the city by shipping magnate William Burrell, is housed in Pollok Park. Ibrox, home to Glasgow Rangers FC, is also located in the seat.

Although the constituency has the highest proportion of ethnic minorities of all the Glasgow seats, it is a predominantly white electorate. Indeed, the old Govan, and especially its shipyards, were regarded as a stronghold of working-class Protestantism in Glasgow.

This seat has an intriguing history - it has been won by the SNP in two by-elections in the last 30 years (1973 and 1988). Labourís Ian Davidson won it back in 1992 with a majority of over 15%. In 1997 the Labour candidate Mohammed Sarwar was returned with a majority of 9%.

Mr Sarwar, the UK's first Muslim MP, was subsequently charged with trying to bribe a rival candidate but was cleared on all charges.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Glasgow Govan
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Mohammad Sarwar Labour 14,216 44.1
Nicola Sturgeon SNP 11,302 35.1
William Thomas Conservative 2,839 8.8
Bob Stewart Liberal Democrat 1,918 5.9
Alan McCombes Other 755 2.3
Peter Paton Independent 325 1.0
Islam Badar Independent 319 1.0
Zahid Jamil Abbasi Independent 221 0.7
Kenneth MacDonald Referendum 201 0.6
James White BNP 149 0.5
Majority 2,914 9.0
Turnout 32,245 64.5
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Glasgow Govan
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Gordon Jackson Labour 11,421 43.3
Nicola Sturgeon SNP 9,665 36.6
Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh Conservative 2,343 8.9
Mohammed Aslam Khan Liberal Democrat 1,479 5.6
Charlie McCarthy Scottish Socialist 1,275 4.8
John Foster Communist GB 190 0.7
Majority 1,756 6.7
Turnout 26,373 49.2