news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Galloway & Upper Nithsdale
Other Conservative gain from SNP
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Peter Duncan Conservative 12,222 34.0 +3.5
Malcolm Fleming SNP 12,148 33.8 -10.1
Thomas Sloan Labour 7,258 20.2 +3.9
Neil Wallace Liberal Democrat 3,698 10.3 +3.9
Andy Harvey Scottish Socialist 588 1.6  
Majority 74 0.2
Turnout 35,914 68.1 -11.6
Against 1997 General Election 6.8% from SNP to Conservative
Lab-Con (against 1997) 0.2% from Conservative to Labour
Against 1999 devolution poll 4.7% from SNP to Conservative

This seat occupies territory in the far south west corner of Scotland and is blessed with a varied landscape encompassing hills, valleys and the Solway coast.

Agriculture, forestry and limited tourism are the mainstays of the local economy, although the ex-mining towns of Kirkconnel and Sanquhar in the north are now home to some diverse light industries. The port of Stranraer is also in the seat, drawing tourists to the ferry service with Larne in Northern Ireland since 1872.

There is a cross-party campaign underway for major investment in the trunk route, the A75, which is the constituency’s main route to Europe, via the ferry link to Larne and then onto the Netherlands. P&O ferries have recognised the significance of the North Channel sea link from Stranraer by introducing their first ferry on this route in 2000 and the promise of a second in 2002.

The SNP’s Alasdair Morgan won Galloway & Upper Nithsdale from Conservative Cabinet minister Ian Lang at the 1997 election. Like all the other SNP MPs, Alasdair Morgan stood for the Scottish Parliament and won the seat. He is standing down from Westminster and his parliamentary assistant, Malcolm Fleming, is defending the seat for the SNP.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Galloway & Upper Nithsdale
SNP gain from Conservative
Name Party Votes %
Alasdair Morgan SNP 18,449 43.9
Ian Lang Conservative 12,825 30.5
Katy Clark Labour 6,861 16.3
John McKerchar Liberal Democrat 2,700 6.4
Roger Wood Independent 566 1.3
Alan Kennedy Referendum 428 1.0
J W Smith UK Independence 189 0.4
Majority 5,624 13.4
Turnout 42,018 79.7
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Galloway & Upper Nithsdale
SNP win
Name Party Votes %
Morgan Alisdair SNP 13,873 39.3
Alex Ferguson Conservative 10,672 30.2
Jim Stevens Labour 7,209 20.4
Joan Mitchell Liberal Democrat 3,562 10.1
Majority 3,201 9.1
Turnout 35,316 65.9