news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Falkirk East
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Michael Connarty Labour 18,536 55.0 -1.1
Isobel Hutton SNP 7,824 23.2 -0.7
Bill Stevenson Conservative 3,252 9.6 -4.4
Karen Utting Liberal Democrat 2,992 8.9 +3.7
Anthony Weir Scottish Socialist 725 2.2  
Raymond Stead Socialist Labour 373 1.1  
Majority 10,712 31.8
Turnout 33,702 58.5 -14.7
Against 1997 General Election 0.2% from Labour to SNP
Lab-Con (against 1997) 1.6% from Conservative to Labour
Against 1999 devolution poll 10.0% from SNP to Labour

Following boundary changes in 1997 this seat no longer contains any part of the town of Falkirk. Despite the presence of large tracts of open countryside it is definitely industrial in character. Grangemouth holds both a modern container port and a vast petrochemical complex, the chimneys of which can be seen belching smoke for miles around.

Most of the towns and villages here, such as Stenhousemuir, are home to working-class residents and many new light industries have been attracted to the area in recent years.

One of the more novel sights in the seat, and certainly less of a blot on the landscape than the Grangemouth smokestacks, is a 45-foot high stone pineapple at Dunmore - built to mark an ill-fated attempt at cultivation of the fruit in the eighteenth century and a tourist attraction today.

Sitting Labour MP Michael Connarty applied to stand for the Scottish Parliament but, like Dennis Canavan in neighbouring Falkirk West, he was rejected by Labourís central selection panel. Unlike Mr Canavan he chose to accept this. Labourís Cathy Peattie went on to win the seat in the Scottish Parliament with a majority of 4,139 votes.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Falkirk East
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Michael Connarty Labour 23,344 56.1
Keith Brown SNP 9,959 23.9
Malcolm Nicol Conservative 5,813 14.0
Rodger Spillane Liberal Democrat 2,153 5.2
Sebastian Mowbray Referendum 325 0.8
Majority 13,385 32.2
Turnout 41,594 73.2
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Falkirk East
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Cathy Peattie Labour 15,721 44.6
Keith Brown SNP 11,582 32.9
Alastair Orr Conservative 3,399 9.7
Gordon McDonald Liberal Democrat 2,509 7.1
Raymond Stead Socialist Labour 1,643 4.7
Victor MacGrain Independent 358 1.0
Majority 4,139 11.7
Turnout 35,212 60.7