news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Edinburgh North & Leith
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Mark Lazarowicz Labour 15,271 45.9 -1.0
Sebastian Tombs Liberal Democrat 6,454 19.4 +6.4
Kaukab Stewart SNP 5,290 15.9 -4.2
Iain Mitchell Conservative 4,626 13.9 -4.0
Catriona Grant Scottish Socialist 1,334 4.0  
Don Jacobsen Socialist Labour 259 0.8  
Majority 8,817 26.5
Turnout 33,234 53.2 -13.3
Against 1997 General Election 3.7% from Labour to Liberal Democrat
Lab-Con (against 1997) 1.5% from Conservative to Labour
Against 1999 devolution poll 4.7% from Labour to Liberal Democrat

The seat covers an area north from the new town, an elegant Georgian district in fine neo-classical style, to Leith - Edinburgh's historic port and centre for the city's engineering, fishing and whisky industries. Leith was once an unashamedly working-class area marked by brooding tenements, but today some bright redevelopments have brought it yuppified housing and arguably the best concentration of bars and restaurants in the city - leading it to be nick-named "Leith-sur-Mer".

Leith was one of the proposed sites for the Scottish Parliament’s permanent building. But despite the decision to situate the parliament elsewhere, Leith docks remain the home of 1,500 civil servants working for the Scottish Executive in the Victoria Quay building, which opened in 1996.

Sitting MP Malcolm Chisholm was first elected for Edinburgh North & Leith in 1992 following the deselection of the maverick Ron Brown, who was infamously suspended from the Commons in 1988 for picking up the mace and throwing to the ground. Mr Chisholm won with a commanding majority of 10,978 votes over the SNP in the 1997 election.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Edinburgh North & Leith
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Malcolm Chisholm Labour 19,209 46.9
Anne Dana SNP 8,231 20.1
Ewen Stewart Conservative 7,312 17.9
Hilary Campbell Liberal Democrat 5,335 13.0
Sandy Graham Referendum 441 1.1
Gavin Brown Other 320 0.8
Paul Douglas-Reid Natural Law 97 0.2
Majority 10,978 26.8
Turnout 40,945 66.5
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Edinburgh North & Leith
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Malcolm Chisholm Labour 17,203 46.9
Anne Dana SNP 9,467 25.8
Jamie Sempill Conservative 5,030 13.7
Sebastian Tombs Liberal Democrat 4,039 11.0
Ronald Brown Scottish Socialist 907 2.5
Majority 7,736 21.1
Turnout 36,646 57.8