news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Edinburgh Central
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Alistair Darling Labour 14,495 42.1 -5.0
Andrew Myles Liberal Democrat 6,353 18.5 +5.4
Alastair Orr Conservative 5,643 16.4 -4.8
Ian McKee SNP 4,832 14.1 -1.7
Graeme Farmer Green 1,809 5.3 +3.9
Kevin Williamson Scottish Socialist 1,258 3.7  
Majority 8,142 23.7
Turnout 34,390 52.0 -15.1
Against 1997 General Election 5.2% from Labour to Liberal Democrat
Lab-Con (against 1997) 0.1% from Labour to Conservative
Against 1999 devolution poll 1.1% from Liberal Democrat to Labour

This is one of the most attractive urban seats in Britain. It includes the landmarks of the Castle, Arthur's Seat, St Giles' Cathedral, the shopper’s haven Princes Street, Waverley train station, the Palace of Holyroodhouse and Murrayfield rugby stadium. Edinburgh is of course Scotland’s capital and home to the famous international festival.

Both the interim Scottish Parliament building on the Mound, which overlooks Princes Street and the site of its ultimate home at Holyrood, at the foot of the great crag Arthur’s Seat, lie within this constituency. Many of Edinburgh University’s older buildings are found within the boundaries of Central too.

The city’s booming financial sector is based largely in this constituency, and its multitude of historic and picturesque attractions make tourism big business here. This seat has a very high proportion of professional and managerial workers in relation to the rest of Scotland, and is also home to the highest number of residents born outside Scotland (mainly from England).

Edinburgh Central has been held by Labour since 1945 with the exception of a period between 1983 and 1987 when it was represented by Conservative Sir Alex Fletcher.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Edinburgh Central
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Alistair Darling Labour 20,125 47.1
Mike Scott-Hayward Conservative 9,055 21.2
Fiona Hyslop SNP 6,750 15.8
Karen Utting Liberal Democrat 5,605 13.1
Linda Hendry Green 607 1.4
Austin Skinner Referendum 495 1.2
Mark Benson Independent 98 0.2
Majority 11,070 25.9
Turnout 42,735 67.1
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Edinburgh Central
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Sarah Boyack Labour 14,224 38.0
Ian McKee SNP 9,598 25.7
Andy Myles Liberal Democrat 6,187 16.5
Jacqui Low Conservative 6,018 16.1
Kevin Williamson Scottish Socialist 830 2.2
Brian Allingham Independent 364 1.0
William Wallace Independent 191 0.5
Majority 4,626 12.3
Turnout 37,412 56.5