news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Dunfermline East
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Gordon Brown Labour 19,487 64.8 -2.0
Johnny Mellon SNP 4,424 14.7 -0.9
Stuart Randall Conservative 2,838 9.4 -0.6
John Mainland Liberal Democrat 2,281 7.6 +1.7
Andy Jackson Scottish Socialist 770 2.6  
Tom Dunsmore UK Independence 286 1.0  
Majority 15,063 50.1
Turnout 30,086 57.0 -13.2
Against 1997 General Election 0.6% from Labour to SNP
Lab-Con (against 1997) 0.7% from Labour to Conservative
Against 1999 devolution poll 10.4% from SNP to Labour

The title of this seat is something of a misnomer, since no part of Dunfermline town is actually located here.

Instead, Cowdenbeath is the largest town and most of the seat's area was once part of the Fife coal field. Mining no longer takes place here, but scattered around the seat are ex-mining communities once known as "little Moscows" - hinting at their communist past.

Economically the region is still depressed, and matters have not been helped by the redundancies caused by the trouble-stricken Rosyth dockyards and naval base which is just across the south western border of the seat in Dunfermline West.

However, various business developments are being undertaken in the Rosyth site which are expected to generate more jobs for the future. The telecommunications company Motorola has opened a new factory in the Dunfermline West seat, which has created a new source of employment for the people of Dunfermline East too.

There has been a Labour MP for this area since 1950. The Chancellor of the Exchequer, Gordon Brown, has been MP for Dunfermline East since 1983 and his majority at the last general election was over 18,000 votes.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Dunfermline East
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Gordon Brown Labour 24,441 66.8
John Ramage SNP 5,690 15.6
Iain Mitchell Conservative 3,656 10.0
Jim Tolson Liberal Democrat 2,164 5.9
Thomas Dunsmore Referendum 632 1.7
Majority 18,751 51.3
Turnout 36,583 70.2
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Dunfermline East
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Helen Eadie Labour 16,576 55.9
David McCarthy SNP 7,877 26.6
Carrie Ruxton Conservative 2,931 9.9
Fred Lawson Liberal Democrat 2,275 7.7
Majority 8,699 29.3
Turnout 29,659 56.3