news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Cunninghame North
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Brian Wilson Labour 15,571 46.0 -4.3
Campbell Martin SNP 7,173 21.2 +2.8
Richard Wilkinson Conservative 6,666 19.7 -3.8
Ross Chmiel Liberal Democrat 3,060 9.0 +3.5
Sean Scott Scottish Socialist 964 2.9  
Louise McDaid Socialist Labour 382 1.1 -0.1
Majority 8,398 24.8
Turnout 33,816 61.5 -12.6
Against 1997 General Election 3.5% from Labour to SNP
Lab-Con (against 1997) 0.2% from Labour to Conservative
Against 1999 devolution poll 5.3% from SNP to Labour

Cunninghame North is a coastal and rural seat with declining traditional industries. Mining used to take place inland in the Garnock Valley, centred on Kilbirnie, Dalry and Beith, but all the pits have now closed. Textiles are also in decline, and the major industries in the seat today are tourism and agriculture. The resort of Largs and the Isle of Arran are the two most popular tourist destinations.

Cunninghame North and its predecessor seat of North Ayrshire & Bute were held by the Conservatives from 1918 until 1987 when Brian Wilson, who chaired the ‘Labour Vote No’ campaign in 1979, won this constituency from John Corrie, now MEP for the West Midlands.

Before the last general election this seat was seen as a Labour/Conservative marginal, but Mr Wilson increased his majority from 7.3% to 26.8%.

In the 1999 Scottish Parliament elections, Labour’s Allan Wilson, now deputy sports and culture minister, had a comfortable victory with a 14.3% majority over the SNP. This election also marked the further demise of the Conservatives' fortunes in this area, with their relegation into third place behind the SNP with only 19.8% of the vote.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Cunninghame North
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Brian Wilson Labour 20,686 50.3
Margaret Mitchell Conservative 9,647 23.5
Kim Nicoll SNP 7,584 18.4
Karen Freel Liberal Democrat 2,271 5.5
Louise McDaid Socialist Labour 501 1.2
Ian Winton Referendum 440 1.1
Majority 11,039 26.8
Turnout 41,129 74.1
1999 Scottish Parliamentary Election
 Cunninghame North
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Allan Wilson Labour 14,371 42.9
Kay Ullrich SNP 9,573 28.6
Mike Johnston Conservative 6,649 19.9
Calum Irving Liberal Democrat 2,900 8.7
Majority 4,798 14.3
Turnout 33,493 59.3