news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Carmarthen West & Pembrokeshire South
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Nicholas Ainger Labour 15,349 41.6 -7.5
Robert Wilson Conservative 10,811 29.3 +2.7
Llyr Griffiths Plaid Cymru 6,893 18.7 +6.0
William Jeremy Liberal Democrat 3,248 8.8 +0.6
Ian Phillips UK Independence 537 1.5  
Nick Turner Direct Customer 78 0.2  
Majority 4,538 12.3
Turnout 36,916 65.3 -11.2
Against 1997 General Election 5.1% from Labour to Conservative
Against 1999 devolution poll 2.4% from Labour to Conservative

Created in 1995, the seat is held at Westminster for Labour by Nick Ainger, who had a majority of 22.6% over the Conservatives.

The previous Pembroke seat, which forms a large part of the constituency, was in long-term Conservative control until 1992.

Both the former Carmarthen and Pembroke seats have been represented by prominent political figures.

Former Welsh secretary Nicholas Edwards, now Lord Crickhowell, was the MP for Pembroke for 22 years. Carmarthen was also the scene of Plaid Cymru's electoral breakthrough when Gwynfor Evans won the 1966 by-election.

The area contains widespread farming areas as well as districts on the south Pembrokeshire coast such as Tenby and Saundersfoot, which are heavily dependent on tourism.

Pembroke Dock provides a sea ferry link with Ireland. Pembroke town has suffered due to the decline in the oil refining industry, although the announcement of a major new investment in the town's refinery in July 2000 provided a fillip to the area.

South Pembrokeshire is sometimes referred to as “Little England beyond Wales” due to the high level of inward migration and the limited number of Welsh speakers which contrasts with the relative prevalence of Welsh speakers in Carmarthenshire.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Carmarthen West & Pembrokeshire South
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Nick Ainger Labour 20,956 49.1
Owen Williams Conservative 11,335 26.6
Roy Llewellyn Plaid Cymru 5,402 12.7
Keith Evans Liberal Democrat 3,516 8.2
Joy Poirrier Referendum 1,432 3.4
Majority 9,621 22.6
Turnout 42,641 76.5
1999 Welsh Assembly Election
 Carmarthen West & Pembrokeshire South
Labour win
Name Party Votes %
Christine Gwyther Labour 9,891 35.1
Roy Llewellyn Plaid Cymru 8,399 29.8
David Edwards Conservative 5,079 18.0
William Davies Independent 2,090 7.4
Roger Williams Liberal Democrat 1,875 6.6
Graham Fry TFPW 815 2.9
Majority 1,492 5.3
Turnout 28,149 50.9