news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
 Brecon & Radnorshire
Other Liberal Democrat hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
Roger Williams Liberal Democrat 13,824 36.8 -4.0
Felix Aubel Conservative 13,073 34.8 +5.8
Huw Irranca-Davis Labour 8,024 21.4 -5.2
Brynach Parri Plaid Cymru 1,301 3.5 +2.0
Ian Mitchell Independent 762 2.0  
Elizabeth Phillips UK Independence 452 1.2  
Robert Nicholson Independent 80 0.2  
Majority 751 2.0
Turnout 37,516 71.8 -10.4
Against 1997 General Election 4.9% from Liberal Democrat to Conservative
Lab-Con (against 1997) 5.5% from Labour to Conservative
Against 1999 devolution poll 9.0% from Liberal Democrat to Conservative

This is Wales's biggest seat geographically, and is almost entirely rural. It extends across the Welsh Marches, sharing the border with England.

Each July, in Llanelwedd, it hosts the biggest agricultural event in Wales, and one of the largest in Britain, the Royal Welsh Show. This had to be cancelled in 2001 because of foot-and-mouth.

There are, unsurprisingly perhaps, extremes within such a large constituency.

Ystradgynlais in the far south, for example, is a former industrial area. Hit heavily by the collapse of the old heavy industries, it has also recently been hit by the closure of textile and light manufacturing industries.

This is a three-way marginal. From 1945 to 1979, it was a safe Labour seat. It was then held by the Tories until Tom Hooson's sudden death in 1985.

In the ensuing by-election, the seat was won by the Liberal Democrats, by a mere 559 votes - the first time since 1924. Mr Livsey held on in 1987, but only by 56 votes. In 1992, the Conservative snatched the seat back, by 130 votes.

But in 1997, Richard Livsey secured a relatively sound victory, regaining the seat, with a majority of 5,097 votes.

Past Results

1997 General Election
 Brecon & Radnorshire
Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative
Name Party Votes %
Richard Livsey Liberal Democrat 17,516 40.8
Jonathan Evans Conservative 12,419 29.0
Christopher Mann Labour 11,424 26.6
Liz Phillips Referendum 900 2.1
Steven Cornelius Plaid Cymru 622 1.5
Majority 5,097 11.9
Turnout 42,881 82.2
1999 Welsh Assembly Election
 Brecon & Radnorshire
Liberal Democrat win
Name Party Votes %
Kirsty Williams Liberal Democrat 13,022 44.5
Nicholas Bourne Conservative 7,170 24.5
Ian Janes Labour 5,165 17.7
David Petersen Plaid Cymru 2,356 8.0
Michael Shaw Independent 1,502 5.1
Majority 5,852 20.0
Turnout 29,215 57.5