Where I Live
A-Z Index
Front Page | In-depth | UK Politics | The Tory leadership contest
Candidate Interviews
 Form Guide: Iain Duncan Smith
 Or compare other:
Close to Lady Thatcher
Close to Lady Thatcher

Although fancied by the pundits to win the final round of voting Iain Duncan Smith only just scraped through, beating the early favourite Michael Portillo by a single vote.

He took 54 votes to Portillo's 53, while Ken Clarke romped home with 59 votes.

Duncan Smith came second in every round of the contest, trailing Michael Portillo in the early stages and the former chancellor in the final knock-out vote.

In the first go at holding the first round Duncan Smith took 39 votes. Michael Ancram and Davis Davis took 21 each, while Michael Portillo took 49 and Ken Clarke came third with 36.

Those MPs (38) who declared their support for Duncan Smith ahead of the final knockout vote included: Iain Duncan Smith, Michael Ancram, Julian Brazier, Angela Browning, William Cash, Christopher Chope, David Davis, Jonathan Djanogly, Peter Duncan, Michael Fallon, Eric Forth, Mark Francois, Dominic Grieve, Paul Goodman, John Hayes, Gerald Howarth, Andrew Hunter, Bernard Jenkin, Eleanor Laing, Edward Leigh, Dr Julian Lewis, Patrick Mercer, Stephen O'Brien, Owen Paterson, Eric Pickles, John Redwood, Laurence Robertson, Andrew Rosindell, Andrew Selous, Richard Shepherd, Mark Simmonds, Des Swayne, Sir Peter Tapsell, Sir Teddy Taylor, Andrew Turner, Angela Watkinson, Bill Wiggin, Nicholas Winterton.

Audio/Video Clips
Video Symbol
All five candidates head-to-head on Question Time
real 56k

Audio Symbol
Iain Duncan Smith launches his campaign
real 28k

Video Symbol
William Hague and Duncan Smith get involved in a policy mix-up, January 2001
real 28k

Audio Symbol
The Tory defence spokesman, calls for British troops out of Sierra Leone, September 2000
real 28k

^^ Back to Top
 © MMV | News Sources | Privacy