Page last updated at 13:59 GMT, Thursday, 25 October 2012 14:59 UK

Members' business: Neil Armstrong

SNP MSP Willie Coffey said that Neil Armstrong's "carefully prepared line of 'that's one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind' as he stepped from the ladder of the lunar module on to the moon's powdery surface was surely one of the most significant and endearing quotes in human history", on 25 October 2012.

Mr Coffey was leading a member's debate on Neil Armstrong - first man on the moon and commander of Apollo 11.

Mr Armstrong died on 25 August 2012.

In his motion, Mr Coffey recognised the significant human and scientific achievement made by the Apollo 11 team of Neil Armstrong, lunar module pilot Buzz Aldrin and command module pilot Michael Collins.

He also highlighted Mr Armstrong's family connections with the town of Langholm in Scotland.

Labour MSP Elaine Murray said that "the moon landing inspired people of every generation".

Ms Murray also said that Mr Armstrong stated that he considered Langholm to be his home town.

Conservative MSP Jamie McGrigor said that Neil Armstrong was "truly the bravest of the brave".

Mr McGrigor said that the astronaut's "achievement and legacy continues to inspire people of all ages across the planet".

Learning Minister Alistair Allan said "today the Scottish Parliament is honoured to recognise the sheer scale of Neil Armstrong's giant leap for mankind".

Mr Allan also said Mr Armsrong's enduring contribution was "his continuing ability to inspire young people to strive to be the best they can".

Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific