Page last updated at 15:23 GMT, Monday, 5 July 2010 16:23 UK


On 6 July 2010, former Labour MPs John McFall and Hilary Armstrong took their seats as new members of the House of Lords.

Simon Wolfson, chief executive of clothing retailer Next, was introduced as a conservative peer.

Lord McFall of Alcluith, had been an MP in Dunbartonshire since 1987 and chaired the high-profile treasury select committee from 2001 until this year's election.

Lord Wolfson of Aspley Guise, backed David Cameron's campaign for the conservative leadership and has donated almost £300,000 to the party since he became leader.

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top, stood down at the general election after 23 years as MP for Durham North West.

She was chief whip from 2001 to 2006 and was subsequently Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster until 2007.


Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific