Page last updated at 16:36 GMT, Tuesday, 27 November 2012

EU (Croation Accession and Irish Protocol) Bill

MPs passed the European Union (Croation Accession and Irish Protocol) Bill on 27 November 2012, approving it at third reading without a vote.

The bill approves the Republic of Croatia joining the European Union in July 2013, in line with a treaty signed at Brussels on 9 December 2011.

It also includes the protocols to the Lisbon Treaty put forward by the Czech and Irish governments, and plans to maintain the number of EU commissioners at one per member state.

The terms under which Croatian nationals can enter the UK labour market are also set out in the bill.

MPs backed the bill at second reading on 6 November without a vote, despite reservations from some Conservative backbenchers.

Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific