Page last updated at 15:25 GMT, Tuesday, 29 June 2010 16:25 UK

Membership of backbench business committee unveiled

Commons Speaker John Bercow has revealed that the new backbench business committee will comprise of Conservative MPs Peter Bone, Philip Davies, Jane Ellison, Philip Hollobone, Labour MPs David Anderson and Alison Seabeck, and Lib Dem MP John Hemming.

Mr Bercow had previously announced that Labour's Natascha Engel will chair the committee.

In a statement on 29 June 2010, Mr Bercow told MPs that the Tory and Lib Dem members of the committee were elected unopposed.

But Labour MPs held a secret ballot to elect Mr Anderson and Ms Seabeck, who saw off one rival for their posts, Katy Clark.

Mr Anderson secured 99 votes; Ms Seabeck 92; Ms Clark 57.


Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific