Page last updated at 13:24 GMT, Tuesday, 15 December 2009

Debate on the London Select Committee


The Conservatives have complained that the proposed composition of the London Regional Select Committee is not representative of the views of Londoners.

On 14 December 2009, MPs debated government proposals that Karen Buck, Jeremy Corbyn, Clive Efford, Siobhain McDonagh, Andy Slaughter and Andrew Pelling form part of the London Regional Select Committee.

Shadow Minister for Communities and Local Government Justine Greening led the opposition to the choice of members, which she argued did not give adequate representation to people who opposed the expansion of Heathrow, for example.

But the names were ultimately approved by 212 votes to 124, a majority of 88.

Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific