Page last updated at 15:30 GMT, Saturday, 31 October 2009

12 January 2005: Constitutional treaty passed

European Parliament, Strasbourg

In January 2005, MEPs voted to approve what was then still called the "treaty establishing a constitution for Europe".

After voting on a series of amendments, MEPs voted for the report as a whole.

Despite strong applause from many MEPs, the result was jeered by a large group of banner-waving Eurosceptics.

Amid the noise, the then President of the European Council, Luxembourg's Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker, struggled to speak.

This was just the start of a long and arduous political voyage for the treaty - rejected by voters in France and the Netherlands, it was slimmed down to become the Lisbon Treaty.

The Lisbon Treaty removed references to a "constitution" and increased the number of opt-out abilities for certain countries in certain policy areas. However, it was rejected by Irish voters in a referendum in June 2008.

As with any other treaty, it must be ratified by all member states before it can come into force.

Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific