Page last updated at 16:44 GMT, Saturday, 31 October 2009
Father of the House

The title Father of the House is given to the MP with the longest unbroken service in the House of Commons.

The Conservative MP Sir Peter Tapsell became Father of the House after the 2010 election, succeeding Labour backbencher Alan Williams, who became Father of the House after the 2005 election.

Before that, Sir Edward Heath held the position from 1992, then Tam Dalyell from 2001.

Last century a number of other ex-prime ministers were Fathers of the House.

One, David Lloyd George, was Father for the longest time - 15 years. Another, Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman, was PM and Father simultaneously in 1907-8.

When two MPs have served for an identical period, the one who took the Oath first becomes Father.

Thus, Sir Bernard Braine - now Lord Braine - assumed the title in 1987 rather than (Sir) Edward Heath although both had been elected in 1950.

Michael Foot had first become an MP in 1945, but his service had not been continuous.

More from BBC Democracy Live
Compare who does what across the UK and Europe
Our A-Z of words used in the business of politics
Discover what BBC Democracy Live has to offer you


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific