Page last updated at 18:20 GMT, Sunday, 1 November 2009
Assembly members

The Welsh Assembly is composed of 60 members known as AMs (Assembly Members).

There is one AM for each of Wales's 40 constituencies and 20 are elected as additional members, four from each of five regional groups of constituencies.

Constituency AMs are elected by the first past the post system, whilst regional AMs are elected by the additional member system which is a form of proportional representation.

Members of the ruling party may take on one of up to 14 positions available in the Welsh Assembly Government (WAG).

When the Assembly is in session, AMs meet every week in the Siambr to pose questions to ministers, debate governmental policies and committee reports and scrutinize legislation.

In committees AMs, who are not members of the government, scrutinize proposed legislation and budgets, and gather evidence from relevant stakeholders when undertaking an inquiry into a particular issue.

When they are not in the Welsh Assembly, AMs spend the rest of their time working on behalf of their constituents who they represent in Cardiff Bay.

More from BBC Democracy Live
Compare who does what across the UK and Europe
Our A-Z of words used in the business of politics
Discover what BBC Democracy Live has to offer you


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2016 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific