Page last updated at 18:53 GMT, Tuesday, 27 October 2009

Members of the European Parliament form committees - cross-party groups that scrutinise laws proposed by the European Commission and put forward "own-initiative" reports.

There are 20 committees covering areas such as the budget, environment and foreign affairs, each with a chairman and three vice chairmen.

For each report that the committee produces a "rapporteur" is appointed to take charge of writing the report.

Temporary committees may also be set up for a maximum of one year to investigate a particular issue, for example the alleged use of extraordinary rendition.

European Parliament committees often have impenetrable acronyms - the Foreign Affairs Committee is known as AFET and the Fisheries Committee is known as PECH, for example.

More from BBC Democracy Live
Compare who does what across the UK and Europe
Our A-Z of words used in the business of politics
Discover what BBC Democracy Live has to offer you


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2016 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific