Page last updated at 13:41 GMT, Monday, 26 October 2009
Political groups

Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) do not sit along national lines - they sit in political groups that cross national boundaries.

There are currently seven political groups, although new groups may be formed within the lifetime of a Parliament, as long as a group contains at least 25 MEPs from at least seven member states.

More from BBC Democracy Live
Compare who does what across the UK and Europe
Our A-Z of words used in the business of politics
Discover what BBC Democracy Live has to offer you


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific