Page last updated at 11:44 GMT, Wednesday, 1 October 2008 12:44 UK
Labour Party leadership election

From 1922 to 1981, the Labour Party Leader was elected by members of the Parliamentary Labour Party (PLP) i.e. Labour MPs.

When the party was in opposition there were annual contests, with most elections being unopposed.

In 1981, a special conference was held at Wembley which drew up an electoral college procedure for electing the leader and deputy leader every year.

Forty per cent of the votes were allocated to the Trades Unions, 30% to the PLP and 30% to constituency Labour Parties (CLPs).

In 1993, the rules were changed to require trades unions and CLPs to hold ballots of their individual members (One Member, One Vote - OMOV) during leadership elections. At the same time the electoral college was adjusted to three equal constituent parts.

Tony Blair was the first Labour leader to be elected under this system.


More from BBC Democracy Live
Compare who does what across the UK and Europe
Our A-Z of words used in the business of politics
Discover what BBC Democracy Live has to offer you


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2016 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific