Page last updated at 14:09 GMT, Tuesday, 2 September 2008 15:09 UK
House of Commons Commission

The House of Commons Commission was set up in 1978 and has overall responsibility for the appointment and terms of employment of all staff in the departments of the House.

It consists of the Speaker (as Chair), the leader of the House, a member nominated by the leader of the opposition, and three backbenchers - in practice one from the government side, one from the main opposition party and one from another party.

The Commission makes an annual report to the House.

More from BBC Democracy Live
Compare who does what across the UK and Europe
Our A-Z of words used in the business of politics
Discover what BBC Democracy Live has to offer you


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific