Page last updated at 13:36 GMT, Wednesday, 20 August 2008 14:36 UK
Ecclesiastical Committee

The ecclesiastical committee is a parliamentary committee established by an act of Parliament in 1919 to consider measures passed by the General Synod of the Church of England.

The committee is appointed for the duration of a Parliament and consists of 15 members drawn from the House of Commons and the House of Lords who are nominated by the Speaker and Lord Speaker respectively.

An example of an issue which was considered in recent years by the ecclesiastical committee is the proposal from the Church of England that it should be allowed to appoint women priests.

Matters concerning the Established Church of England are dealt with at question time by a Parliamentary representative of the Church Commissioners.

More from BBC Democracy Live
Compare who does what across the UK and Europe
Our A-Z of words used in the business of politics
Discover what BBC Democracy Live has to offer you


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific