Page last updated at 10:52 GMT, Wednesday, 18 January 2012

Election of the Vice-President of the European Parliament

After three rounds of voting, MEPs have elected the 14 vice-presidents of the European Parliament.

The votes began on 17 January 2012, following the election of the new president, Martin Schulz.

By convention, an agreement to divide up the vice-president roles between the political groups mean that they are usually elected without any formal opposition.

However with 15 candidates standing, a secret ballot needed to take place.

In the first two rounds, no candidates received an overall majority, leading to a third ballot - the results of which were announced during the Danish presidency debate on 18 January 2012.

The 14 successful candidates with their number of votes were:

• Gianni Pittella (Italian social democrat) - 319

• Miguel Angel Martínez-Martínez (Spanish social democrat) - 295

• Anni Podimata (Greek social democrat) - 281

• Alejo Vidal-Quadras (Spanish centre-right) - 269

• Georgios Papastamkos (Greek centre-right) - 248

• Roberta Angelilli (Italian centre-right) - 246

• Othmar Karas (Austrian centre-right) - 244

• Edward McMillan-Scott (British liberal) - 239

• Isabelle Durant (Belgian green) - 238

• Alexander Alvaro (German liberal) - 235

• Rainer Wieland (German centre-right) - 230

• Oldrik Vlasák (Czech conservative) - 223

• Jacek Protasiewicz (Polish centre-right) - 206

• László Surján (Hungarian centre-right) - 188

The one unsuccessful candidate, was Estonian green MEP, Indrek Tarand.

Eight of the 14 MEPs on the list are incumbent vice-presidents.

The UK has dropped from having three vice-presidents to one.

Vice-presidents deputise for the president, chairing debates of the plenary session. They also have individual responsibilities, such as relations with national parliaments.

Useful links:

A disclaimer on the use of simultaneous interpretations, on the European Parliament's website.

Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific