Page last updated at 12:37 GMT, Thursday, 11 February 2010

Voting Session

MEPs have voted to block an agreement on data transfer with the USA during the daily voting session on 11 February 2010.

An attempt by the EPP and ECR groups to postpone a vote and send it back to the committee was defeated by 290 votes to 505.

However the author of the report into the transfer agreement, the Dutch MEP Jeanine Hennis-Plasschaert insisted that MEPs reject the proposal, saying that the Parliament should not "keep falling for fake promises" by the Council of Ministers

To loud applause, the SWIFT agreement was rejected by 378 votes to 196.

Also during the session, MEPs voted to:

• enable Iceland to qualify for assistance in its attempts to join the EU

• approve the EU becoming a signatory to the Convention on International Recovery of Child Support

• reject plans for a new financing project (Progress) for start-up businesses in Europe until the European Commission increases its budget and ensures that funding is not taken from existing budgets

• pass an agreement to ensure better safety for hospital workers using needles and other sharp implements.

Story Tools

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific