BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Friday February 04 2011 06:41 GMT

Harry Potter movie series wins special Bafta award!

Emma Watson, Rupert Grint and Daniel Radcliffe playing Hermione Granger, Ron Weasley and Harry Potter in a scene from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1

The Harry Potter movie series is being honoured with a special Bafta award for 10 years of movie magic!

The flicks are getting a prize for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema at this year's Baftas, which are like a UK version of the Oscars.

Harry Potter author JK Rowling and the films' producer David Heyman will collect the award at the Bafta ceremony on 13 February.

Emma Watson said of the news: "This is a huge honour!"

She continued: "I am so proud to have been part of the incredible team both in front and behind the camera that made these films."

Daniel Radcliffe said he was thrilled: "I have loved every minute of making these films and to me the real heroes are the crew and the huge team of craftsmen that have made all eight of them possible."

The Harry Potter films have been received a total of 28 Bafta nominations and five Oscar nominations.

The eighth and final movie, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, is due out in July.