BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Thursday December 02 2010 15:38 GMT

Russia beat England to host the 2018 World Cup

Sepp Blatter revealing Russia as the winner of the 2018 World Cup bid

Russia has beaten England in the race to host the football World Cup in 2018, Fifa has announced.

Bosses at the international footie organisation made their decision in Zurich, Switzerland, on Thursday.

David Beckham had been joined by Prince William and Prime Minister David Cameron to support England's bid, but it wasn't enough to convince officials.

Only two Fifa committee members voted for England and the Prime Minister said it was "bitterly disappointing."

Fifa's decision means Russia will be the first country in Eastern Europe to host the World Cup.

As well as Russia, England's rivals for the 2018 competition included joint bids by Belgium and the Netherlands, and Spain and Portugal.

The World Cup trophy
The World Cup trophy

It was certainly a comeback for Russia after some people said their bid was in trouble when their president Vladamir Putin decided not to fly out to Zurich to support it.

2022 World Cup

Russia are not the only World Cup winners though - Qatar have been picked as the hosts for 2022.

They beat off competition from Australia, the United States, Japan and South Korea.

The announcement means that both the 2018 and the 2022 World Cups will be held by countries who've never held it before.

The president of the Qatar 2022 bid promised: "We won't let you down. You will be proud of us, proud of the Middle East."

The next World Cup will be the 2014 tournament in Brazil.