BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Sunday July 11 2010 22:09 GMT

Spain are World Cup champions

Spain win the World Cup

Spain have won the World Cup 2010 in South Africa, beating the Netherlands 1-0 in the final.

The game was goalless after 90 minutes so it went to extra-time. Andres Iniesta blasted Spain's winner with just four minutes left.

It's the first time Spain have won the World Cup. They were also European champions in 2008.

Massive parties are going on all around Spain and South Africa to celebrate the win.

Andres Iniesta scores for Spain
Andres Iniesta scores for Spain

It was a bad-tempered match. Johnny Heitinga from the Netherlands was sent off, and 12 other players were shown yellow cards. Sometimes English referee Howard Webb struggled to keep control.

Both sides had chances to win the game in normal time, but there were some great saves, terrible misses and no one was able to score.

Right at the end of extra-time, a perfect pass from Arsenal's Cesc Fabregas set up Andres Iniesta, whose powerful strike won Spain the biggest prize in football, and broke Dutch hearts.

It's the third time the Netherlands have lost a World Cup final.

The game brings to an end the first ever World Cup to take place in Africa.

Germany's Thomas Mueller won the Golden Boot award for the World Cup top scorer, and Diego Forlan from Uruguay was named player of the tournament.