BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Tuesday May 11 2010 13:50 GMT

England World Cup squad announced

Gerrard, Rooney and Terry

England manager Fabio Capello has announced the 30 players he will chose his final squad from for this summer's World Cup.

The obvious choices like David James, John Terry, Stephen Gerrard and Wayne Rooney are in there.

But there are some surprises in the selection including Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher who retired from international football in 2007.

And there are also some big names missing from the squad.

Midfielder Owen Hargreaves who was one of England's best players at in 2004 and 2006 misses out on a place.

And Fulham striker Bobby Zamora will be disappointed not to have made it, especially after helping his side to the Europa League final this week.


But there will be some happy faces at clubs around the country after the 30 man list was announced.

West Ham's Scott Parker, Adam Johnson from Manchester City and Aston Villa's Emile Heskey are all names that you might not have expected to see.

Tottenham's Michael Dawson and Tom Huddlestone are also included.

Fabio Capello now has until 1 June to name his final 23-man squad ahead of the World Cup starting on 11 June.

Full shortlist

Scott Parker
West Ham's Scott Parker is in with a chance of going to the World Cup

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart, David James, Robert Green.

Defenders: Leighton Baines, Jamie Carragher, Ashley Cole, Michael Dawson, Rio Ferdinand, Glen Johnson, Ledley King, John Terry, Matthew Upson, Stephen Warnock.

Midfielders: Gareth Barry, Michael Carrick, Joe Cole, Steven Gerrard, Tom Huddlestone, Adam Johnson, Frank Lampard, Aaron Lennon, James Milner, Scott Parker, Theo Walcott, Shaun Wright-Phillips.

Strikers: Darren Bent, Peter Crouch, Jermain Defoe, Emile Heskey, Wayne Rooney.