BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Friday March 26 2010 08:23 GMT

Cyclist Hoy wins 10th world title

Chris Hoy (R) rides to win the Keirin event followed by Malaysian Azizulhasni Awang (C) and German Maximilian Levy (L)

British cyclist Sir Chris Hoy has won his 10th world title at the Track Cycling World Championships in Denmark.

He won the men's Keirin event - the cycling equivalent of a sprint race.

Hoy, who recovered from a crash in his first heat to storm into the final said afterwards: "I'm delighted and it's been a fantastic year for me so far."

It's Britain's first gold of the competition in the capital, Copenhagen, as the women's team lost their pursuit title and had to settle for silver.

Australia took the gold, ahead of Brits Lizzie Armitstead, Wendy Houvenaghel and Joanna Rowsell.

There was also disappointment for Victoria Pendleton and Jess Varnish, who finished fourth in the women's team sprint.