BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Friday March 12 2010 15:50 GMT

Winter Paralympic events

Members of the British Battle Back ice sledge hockey team

Winter Paralympic athletes will compete in four broad events: alpine skiing, Nordic skiing (including biathlon and cross-country), ice sledge hockey and wheelchair curling.

Here's some more information about the categories and some of the rules...

Alpine and Nordic skiing

The disability categories for Alpine and Nordic ski racing are the same.

There are three main categories (or classes) for each race within these events. They are: standing, sitting and visually impaired.

The standing and sitting classes have a number of different categories within them too - the difference between them reflecting the differences between various disabilities.

For example, within the standing category, class LW2 is for athletes who have had one leg amputated ABOVE the knee. But class LW4 is for athletes who have had one leg amputated BELOW the knee.

Ice sledge hockey

Eight national teams will take part in this event.

Like in ice hockey, each team has six players, including the goalkeeper and players follow the same rules as regular ice hockey.

Wheelchair curling

Wheelchair curling is played by people with a wide range of disabilities.

Both male and female athletes take part. Teams must consist of at least one female and there are five players on each side.

It's played with the same rocks and on the same ice as regular curling, but the rocks are thrown from a stationary wheelchair and there's no sweeping.

The rules are governed by the World Curling Federation.