BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Sunday August 30 2009 13:48 GMT

Raikkonen wins Belgian Grand Prix

Kimi Raikkonen celebrates

Kimi Raikkonen has won the Belgian Grand Prix, followed by Giancarlo Fisichella in second and Sebastian Vettel in third.

But it was a terrible day for British drivers, as Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton both failed to finish.

Jenson's hopes of taking the championship title took a blow when he spun out on the first lap after being hit by Romain Grosjean.

Hamilton also went out on the first lap, after Jaime Alguersari hit him.

Fisichella's second place has earned his team, Force India, their first ever F1 points.

But Raikkonen's victory gives Ferrari their first win of 2009, and means over the last six races, there have been six different winners.

Button is still at the top of the table, but he'll have work to do to keep himself in first place in the coming races.