BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Tuesday July 28 2009 15:36 GMT

England to host Rugby World Cup

The Webb Ellis Cup or Rugby Union World Cup

Good news for Rugby Union fans - England has been picked to host the 2015 World Cup.

England fought off rival bids from South Africa and Italy to win the right to stage the competition.

It's thought the matches will be held all over the country, at stadiums including Wembley, Anfield, the Emirates Stadium and Old Trafford.

Cardiff's Millennium Stadium will stage the quarter-finals while the final and semi-finals will happen at Twickenham.

It will be the second time England have hosted the competition - the last time was in 1991.

The International Rugby Board (IRB) also announced that Japan will be hosts for the event in 2019.

Sporting decade

The 2015 World Cup will take place in very sporting decade for the UK.

The country is already hosting the 2012 Olympics, the 2013 Rugby League World Cup, the 2014 Commonwealth Games, and the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Plus, the Football Association is hopeful of bringing the football World Cup back to England in 2018.