BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Thursday June 18 2009 12:17 GMT

British Lions rugby team for South Africa

British and Irish Lions players Stephen Jones and Brian O'Driscoll

The British Lions rugby team has been chosen to play South Africa in the first Test match in Durban.

Ireland's Paul O'Connell will captain the team against South Africa on Saturday, and he is joined in the second row by Wales' Alan Wyn Jones.

England's Ugo Monye will start on the left wing for the British Lions, and David Wallace will play as flanker.

The British and Irish Lions have won all six matches on the tour, but the Test with South Africa will be tougher.

British Lions tour results
Brian O'Driscoll in action for the British Lions

30 May - WIN - Royal XV, 37-25

3 June - WIN - Golden Lions, 74-10

6 June - WIN - Free State Cheetahs, 26-24

10 June - WIN - Sharks, 39-3

13 June - WIN - Western Province, 26-23

16 June - WIN - Southern Kings, 20-8

Ugo Monye's selection in particular is interesting, as he has been selected ahead of Wales' Shane Williams, who was voted the best rugby player in the world in 2008.

David Wallace's selection ahead another Welshmen, Martyn Williams, is also thought to have been a close decision. Williams has been picked on the replacements bench.

The last time the British Lions played in South Africa, back in 1997, the team won the Test series 2-1.

Full team is:

Full back - Lee Byrne, Wales

Wingers - Tommy Bowe, Ireland and Ugo Monye, England

Centres - Brian O'Driscoll, Ireland and Jamie Roberts, Wales

Fly-half - Stephen Jones, Wales

Scrum-half - Mike Phillips, Wales

Props - Gethin Jenkins, Wales and Phil Vickery, England

Hooker - Lee Mears, England

Second row - Paul O'Connell, Ireland (captain) and Alan Wyn Jones, Wales

Back row - Tom Croft, England, David Wallace, Ireland and Jamie Heaslip, Ireland

Replacements: Matthew Rees, Wales. Adam Jones, Wales. Doncha O'Callaghan, Ireland. Martyn Williams, Wales. Harry Ellis, England. Ronan O'Gara, Ireland. Rob Kearney, Ireland.