BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Friday June 05 2009 12:59 GMT

Twenty20 World Cup set to start

England captain Paul Collingwood

Cricket's second Twenty20 World Cup gets started on Friday when England take on the Netherlands at Lord's.

The match kicks off a packed 16 days of top-class cricket, with 12 teams hoping to lift the trophy on 21 June.

Last time out India won the first ever Twenty20 World Cup, and since then the big-hitting IPL has helped make this type of cricket a really big deal.

And it's not the just the men in action either - a women's tournament is taking place at the same time.

In fact, England's women probably have a much better chance of lifting a trophy than the men, having already won the World Cup in 2009.

India celebrate their trophy win in 2007

Paul Collingwood will captain England's men in their bid to become world champions, as Test skipper Andrew Strauss isn't seen as a Twenty20 player.

Another top England player not taking part is all-rounder Andrew Flintoff, who hasn't recovered from a knee injury yet.

Scotland and Ireland are also involved in the tournament, and will be looking to cause an upset or two that will send them into the Super Eight stage.

Most experts have tipped India to keep hold of their trophy, as their players have lots of Twenty20 experience from playing in the IPL.