BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Sunday May 24 2009 14:33 GMT

Rangers crowned SPL champions

Rangers players celebrating their win

Rangers have been crowned champions of the Scottish Premier League after a stylish 3-0 win over Dundee United.

Kyle Lafferty gave Rangers an early lead and Pedro Mendes struck the second before Chris Boyd scored his 31st goal of the season to seal the win.

Rangers' victory means they finish four points ahead of nearest rivals Celtic, who were held to a 0-0 draw by Hearts.

But it also means Dundee United miss out on a Europa League qualification place to Aberdeen.

Aberdeen's 2-1 victory against Hibernian saw them finish ahead of Dundee, in fourth place, on goal difference.

Inverness' Ross Tockley is sent off for a challenge on Falkirk's Steve Lovell
Inverness were relegated to the First Division after losing 1-0 to Falkirk

Rangers' championship win is Walter Smith's first since returning as club manager in 2007, and his eighth over two spells as the Ibrox boss.

It also guarantees their entry into the group stages of next season's Champions League.

But as Rangers fans celebrated their team's success, 38-year-old skipper David Weir avoided revealing whether he'll still be playing next season.

"You don't get any better days than this," he said. "I'm just going to enjoy this."

At the other end of the table, Inverness were booted out of the SPL on Saturday, after losing 1-0 to Falkirk and finishing bottom of the table.