BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Friday May 15 2009 11:45 GMT

In pics: Eurovision finalists getting ready

Russian TV hosts Andrei Malakhov (centre left) and Russian supermodel Natalya Vodyanova

Singers and bands from 25 countries across Europe are getting ready to go head-to-head on Saturday night in the 54th Eurovision Song Contest in Moscow, Russia.

Ukraine's entry Svetlana Loboda

The UK hasn't done too well recently as lots of people think countries vote for the countries they're friends with, rather than the songs they like best.

UK Eurovision hopeful Jade

This year, Jade Ewen's singing for Britain after winning the TV talent show Your Country Needs You. Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber composed her song, It's My Time, but can it win?

Moldova's representative Nelly Ciobanu

We might have a better chance this year as the voting's being split between music experts and a public vote. But we'll have to beat Moldova who are one of this year's favourites.

Sasha Son for Lithuania

Sasha Son will kick the competition off for Lithuania. He's decided to stay away from the bright colours normally associated with the event, but check out the fire in his hand!

Brinck is representing the UK

Brinck is representing Denmark by singing a song written by Irish singer-songwriter Ronan Keating. Ireland were knocked out in the semi-finals.

Norway's entry

Norway's song is called Fairytale. They are another favourite to win the competition and stop Jade getting Britain's first win the contest since 1997!

Greece's entry

Sakis Rouvas is a big pop star in Greece and used to be a pole-vaulter! He is second favourite to win at the moment with his song This Is Our Night.

Ukraine's entry Svetlana Loboda

Svetlana Loboda will perform for Ukraine at this year's contest with her song, Be My Valentine.

Croatia's entry

Croatia will be represented by two singers called Igor Cukrov and Andrea Šušnjara. They are both university students. Nice dancing!!

Albania's entry

Kejsi Tola from Albania will be one of the youngest performers this year. She is going to sing Carry Me In Your Dreams. Check out the dancer with her!!

Azerbaijan's entry

AySel and Arash will sing Always for Azerbaijan. The most famous Eurovision winners are Abba who won in 1974. You'll have to tune in on Saturday to see who'll be 2009 winners.