BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Wednesday May 13 2009 10:02 GMT

Gerrard is footballer of the year

Steven Gerrard

Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has been voted the Premier League's player of the season by journalists.

The footballer of the year is voted for by top football journalists in England, and it's the first time Gerrard has won the prize.

He beat Wayne Rooney and Ryan Giggs to win the award, and will get the trophy at a big celebration on 29 May.

Cristiano Ronaldo won the award in 2008 and 2007, and other recent winners are Thierry Henry and Frank Lampard.

Earlier in the season Ryan Giggs won the players' player of the year prize, which is voted for by other footballers.