BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Friday March 27 2009 06:42 GMT

British cyclists race to victory

Great Britain's Joanna Roswell, Lizzie Armistead and Wendy Houvenaghel  during the race

British cyclists have won their first gold medal at the world championships in Poland, in the women's team pursuit.

Wendy Houvenaghel, Joanna Rowsell and Lizzie Armitstead raced to the finish line 1.27 seconds ahead of their New Zealand rivals to take the title.

In the sprint team final, Shanaze Reade and Victoria Pendleton took home silver after finishing behind the Australians, who set a new world record in the race.

The men had a disappointing day though, just missing out on podium places.

Ross Edgar and Matt Crampton came fourth and fifth in the keirin final, while Mark Cavendish finished seventh in the scratch race.