BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Thursday September 04 2008 14:34 GMT

Disability classifications

Athlete Oscar Pistorious in the 2004 Paralympics

There are six different categories in the Paralympics:

  • Amputee
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Visual Impairment
  • Spinal Cord injuries
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Les Autres - which means 'the others' in French for those that don't fit into the other five categories

Who competes in which class is decided by experts and they look at things like physical assessments. They also watch the person taking part in their sport and in their daily lives.

The criteria are different for each sport, and form part of the official sport rules.