BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Sunday May 04 2008 09:55 GMT

Hollyoaks top soap award winners

Emma Rigby, who plays Hannah Ashworth, and Matt Littler and Darren Jon Jeffries - Max and OB

Hollyoaks has beaten Coronation Street AND EastEnders to scoop the most trophies at one of the biggest events in TV - the British Soap Awards.

Loads of stars turned out for the ceremony in London to see the Hollyoaks cast and crew walk off with six awards.

They included best actor for Dancing on Ice star Chris Fountain, as Justin.

But the biggest award of the night, for best soap, went to EastEnders which also won three other prizes. Coronation Street picked up five awards.

All the winners were chosen by a mixture of expert judges and ordinary viewers.

Jamie Borthwick - EastEnders' Jay Brown
Jamie Borthwick plays Jay Brown in EastEnders
Hollyoaks' other awards included best actress for Emma Rigby, who plays Hannah Ashworth, and best on-screen partnership for the actors who play Max and OB, Matt Littler and Darren Jon Jeffries.

Jack P Shepherd - Coronation Street's David - bagged the villain of the year award, while Michelle Keegan, who plays his ex-girlfriend Tina in the soap, won best newcomer.

For EastEnders, Jamie Borthwick picked up the award for best performance by a young actor for his portrayal of Jay Brown.

Emmerdale won two prizes, including best single episode.