BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Monday April 28 2008 06:46 GMT

Ronaldo named player of the year

Sir Alex Ferguson with Cristiano Ronaldo

Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo has been crowned as the Professional Footballers' Association player of the year for the second year in a row.

He beat off competition from five other Premier League stars, including Liverpool's Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres and Arsenal's Emmanuel Adebayor.

The Portuguese winger said: "I feel very happy. It is a great moment, it is an honour, a pleasure."

He lost out on the young player of the year award to Arsenal's Cesc Fabregas.

The awards are important to the players and they're voted for by their fellow footballers.

Cesc Fabregas
Fabregas is the young player of the year
Ronaldo said he'd voted for Adebayor to win because he thought he'd had a great season, but added: "I think I deserve to win!"

He added: "I feel very good but it is not just my award, my team-mates have helped me a lot this season.

"They give me good passes to score goals - and I score - but it is a good moment for me."

Fabregas also thanked his team-mates and said he wouldn't have won without them.

"I'm very proud. It's a very prestigious trophy," he said. "Football is a collective game and you prefer to win trophies with team-mates but it's always nice to have this type of award."