BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Tuesday January 13 2009 19:08 GMT

Scottish Premier League facts

Scotland football fans

  • There are 12 teams in Scotland's top footie division, called the Scottish Premier League.
  • Each team plays each of the others three times, and the league is split into two halves.
  • The teams in the top six play each other one more time, and the teams in the bottom six do the same.
  • Rangers have won their country's league title more often than any other club in the world with 51 triumphs.
  • Celtic have won the title 42 times.
  • The last team to win the league, that wasn't Celtic or Rangers, was Aberdeen, back in 1985.
  • The record for the most successive titles is nine, held by both Celtic (1966-74) and Rangers (1989-97).
  • There were two champions in the first season back in 1891 - Dumbarton and Rangers.