BBC Home
Explore the BBC



Last Updated: Thursday August 03 2006 14:07 GMT

Countries of the Middle East

MoroccoTunisiaAlgeriaLibyaPalestinian territoriesEgyptIsraelLebanonJordanSyriaIraqBahrainSaudi ArabiaYemenOmanUAEQatarKuwaitIran

The Middle East refers to countries that lie between Africa and Asia, at the eastern end of the Mediterranean Sea.

Sometimes the countries of North Africa are included as well.

Most of the countries in the Middle East are Arab and they all speak the same language - Arabic. Iran is not an Arab country and Iranians speak Persian.

Most people in the Middle East are Muslim, except for people who live in Israel. Israel is a Jewish country and Israelis speak Hebrew, although some also speak Arabic and are Arab.

Middle East

Past stories




Press Packs

BBC Homepage >> | CBBC Homepage >>

Meet the Team | Help | Contact Us | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy