BBC Home
Explore the BBC


Guides: The Commonwealth

Last Updated: Monday March 13 2006 14:42 GMT

What is the Commonwealth?

Smiles at the Commonwealth.
Today the Commonwealth is a family of 53 nations in every continent.

In the past many of these nations were part of the British Empire.

They have now chosen to join the modern Commonwealth.

The Commonwealth includes some of the richest and poorest, largest and smallest nations in the world.

BBC Homepage >> | CBBC Homepage >>

Meet the Team | Help | Contact Us | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy