BBC Home
Explore the BBC


Guides: EU constitution

Last Updated: Thursday July 05 2007 13:48 GMT

What is the EU constitution?

Child carries collection of European flags
The European Union is a group of 27 countries. They form a kind of club with members.

The members have lots of agreements to help them work together.

But many people say this is not enough. They want one rule book to set out what all the members can and cannot do.

This rule book is called the European Union constitution.

However, the set of rules will only become law if all 27 members agree to it by the end of October 2006.

BBC Homepage >> | CBBC Homepage >>

Meet the Team | Help | Contact Us | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy